Seal of Dane County County of Dane
County Executive's Office

County Board Elects Corrigan Chair

April 15, 2014
County Board Chair Sharon Corrigan, 608.333.2285
County Board

Middleton Representative is Second Woman to Chair County Board, First in 40 Years


The Dane County Board of Supervisors today overwhelmingly elected Sharon Corrigan, Middleton, to chair the Board for the next two years.


Corrigan is only the second woman to hold the post, and the first since Mary Louise Symon, who chaired the board from 1974 until 1980.


“I’m honored that you have entrusted me with this responsibility,” Corrigan told her fellow supervisors. “I also hope my life experiences will enable me to relate to the needs of all your districts and to help move Dane County forward. I live in an urban district that shares issues with many other urban districts. I grew up working on a family grain & livestock farm and understand the stressful demands of farming and the responsibility to the earth that the profession requires.”


“I chose my home in large part because it provided a safe community, good schools, and easy access to the environmental wonders of the area. And, I understand that all citizens of Dane County want a home, a job, a safe neighborhood, good schools for their children, and recreational opportunities. These things don’t just happen. They require a growing economy that provides jobs and opportunity. They require that we demand value for tax dollars spent.  And, they require thoughtful planning, community investment, and a willingness to work together to solve problems.”


Corrigan assumes the chair after former chair John Hendrick announced last week that he would not seek election to a full term in the post. Hendrick took the chair fifteen months ago because he was first vice chair when former chair Scott McDonell was elected County Clerk.


Other officers elected today include First Vice Chair Carousel Bayrd, Second Vice Chair Kyle Richmond, and Sergeants at Arms Nick Zweifel and Maureen McCarville.


Also at today’s meeting, all supervisors were sworn in for the new term by Judge Juan Colas, including newly-elected supervisors Andrew Schauer, Abigail Wuest, Michele Ritt, Paul Nelson and Mike Willett.