Seal of Dane County County of Dane
County Executive's Office

Ten Named to Poverty Commission: Five County Supervisors, Five Community Members to Tackle Pervasive Problem

June 19, 2013
Supervisor John Hendrick, Chair Dane County Board of Supervisors(446-4842)
County Board


County Board Chair John Hendrick has appointed five County Board supervisors and five members of the community to serve staggered three-year terms on the newly-formed Dane County Poverty Commission.


“Addressing poverty is the most critical issue facing the county,” said Hendrick in making the appointments. “Providing programs and initiatives to end poverty not only helps individuals reach their full potential, but also prompts community renewal and stability.  I am looking forward to the work of this important new commission.”


Chair Hendrick appointed the following County Supervisors:


Supervisor Heidi Wegleitner (Health and Human Needs and Equal Opportunities Commission)

Supervisor Paul Rusk (Public Protection and Judiciary Committee)

Supervisor Dorothy Krause (Dane County Development Corporation)

Supervisor Matt Veldran (Public Works and Transportation Committee)

Supervisor. Shelia Stubbs (Personnel and Finance Committee)


Hendrick also appointed the following members of the community:


Greta Hansen, (Community Action Coalition for South Central Wisconsin)

Ananda Mirilli (YWCA)

Kathy Utley (Madison Food Policy Council)

Takisha Jordan (The Road Home of Dane County)

Ken Taylor (Wisconsin Council of Children and Families)


County Executive Joe Parisi or his designee will also serve on the commission.


The formation of the Commission was a recommendation of the Task Force on Poverty in 2009. The County Board formally created the commission last month, and will vote on confirmation of the appointees at its July meeting.

#          #          #