Seal of Dane County County of Dane
County Executive's Office

County Executive Falk and Lakes and Watershed Commission Chair Hulsey Announce Formation of Manure Spreading Task Force

March 16, 2005
Lesley Sillaman, Office of the County Executive (608) 267-8823
County Executive

Madison -- Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk and Chair of the Dane County Lakes and Watershed Commission Brett Hulsey today announced the establishment of a task force to evaluate the risks associated with winter spreading of manure, especially liquid manure, and to recommend winter spreading restrictions. “This task force has the right mix of farmers, conservationists and elected officials to figure out how to stop liquid manure from hurting our lakes and streams,” said Falk. “This manure management task force can help lead the County to protect our rivers and streams, our great fisheries and our vibrant farm economy,” Hulsey said. Formation of the Task Force is a result of County Executive Falk’s March 7 request to the Land Conservation Committee and Lakes and Watershed Commission regarding restrictions on winter spreading of liquid manure. Falk and Hulsey are asking the Task Force to make recommendations to the County Executive, Land Conservation Committee, Lakes and Watershed Commission and County Board by May 1. Both the Land Conservation Committee and Lakes and Watershed Commission have held public hearings on Sub 1 to OA 13, Regarding Manure Management and Storage Facilities. However this ordinance does not address winter spreading of manure at existing operations, which have been the source of the manure runoff problems and recent fish kills. Members of the Task Force are: Bob Uphoff, Swine Producer, Town of Dunn Dennis Jelle, Dairy Farmer, Town of Blue Mounds Jeff Endres, Dairy Farmer, Town of Springfield Jeff Smith, Chair, Wisconsin Trout Unlimited Legislative Committee Andrew Hanson, Staff Attorney for Midwest Environmental Advocates Jerry Jensen, County Board Supervisor representing rural interests Don Eggert, County Board Supervisor, Lakes and Watershed Commission member, Environmental, Agriculture, and Natural Resources Committee member Chuck Erickson, County Board Supervisor and Chair of Land Conservation Committee Brett Hulsey, County Board Supervisor and Chair of Lakes and Watershed Commission # # #